• Start
  • My Books
  • Menus
  • Menus for Impulsive Living: Summary

Menus for Impulsive Living: Summary

Menus for Impulsive Living: A Revolutionary Approach to Organizing and Energizing Your Life was published by Doubleday in 1989 and has been out of print for many years.

Menus was channeled by my guide Charles. The purpose of the book is to help people pay attention to their impulses, which Charles calls messages from the soul about what we need to be doing next. According to Charles, enlightenment is nothing more than knowing what to do next under any given set of circumstances. So Menus is an approach to achieving enlightenment, though couched in very practical terms.

The word menus in the title refers to computer menus. Charles classifies impulses into seven basic types, which he calls Menus A through G. The contents of some of these menus are predetermined by the soul. Others are left entirely up to us. The menus include what Charles calls the natural schedule (Menu A), which consists of physical impulses such as those to sleep, wake up, and eat, as well as lists of self-chosen activities in the following areas: physical exercise (Menu B), self-awareness (Menu C), work (Menu D), play, (Menu E), and frequently repeated household or personal care-oriented tasks, such as washing the dishes or taking a shower (Menu F). Finally, there’s a menu for impulses that take one by surprise (Menu G), such as a coincidence or synchronicity that seems to upset one’s plans, but which is really the result of the soul’s direct intervention in our lives. Such direct interventions can often have miraculous consequences, if we’re willing to follow them.

Social and family pressures have often been responsible for repressing the impulses from the soul that are intended to help us discover and fulfill our life purposes. The menus system delivered by Charles allows us to rediscover our impulses and follow wherever they might lead.